I like to imagine. . .

I’m in the throne-room of God.

Nothing else exists. Just God. And me.

I behold Him. And He is holy, holy, holy.

I am not.

This God who loves is also a God in whose presence sin will not stand. Sin cannot dwell with holy.

I am condemned to death.

I fall on my face, weeping.

There is nothing. Nothing I can do. I’m hopeless.

My tear- stained face turns up again to see Him coming toward me.

“No”, I cry, feeling that this would be the end.

Anything, anything to get His love, His approval, His smile.

And then another voice. “She’s with me,” He thunders.

Jesus, ready, stands to save me. 

I feel myself pulled up by strong hands. Planted on my feet. A robe thrown around me.

“She’s with ME,” He says again.

Something is different.

I look to God. He smiles. He holds out His arms. I am welcomed.

“But God will redeem my soul from the power of the grave, for He shall receive me.”
Psalm 49:15

When Satan tempts me to despair
And tells me of the guilt within
Upward I look, to see Him there
Who made an end of all my sin.
Because the sinless Saviour died
My sinful soul is counted free
For God the JUST is satisfied
To look on HIM – and pardon me.

One thought on “I like to imagine. . .

  1. so. I may or may not have tears in my eyes right now.

    “There is a fountain filled with blood, drawn from Emmanuel’s veins, and sinners plunged beneath the flood lose all their guilty stains… Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be ’till I die.”

    Love you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

